Bilkent Symphony Orchestra to Host International Classical Music Award Ceremony and Concert

23 February 2015 Comments Off on Bilkent Symphony Orchestra to Host International Classical Music Award Ceremony and Concert

Also Wins ICMA Special Achievement Award

Since 2011, the International Classical Music Awards (ICMA) have been presented annually at a ceremony and gala concert held in a different European city each year. This year, the award ceremony and concert will take place in Ankara, hosted by the Bilkent Symphony Orchestra. The BSO is also the recipient of an ICMA 2015 Special Achievement Award.

Award winners in 15 general categories as well as several special categories were chosen by the ICMA jury, made up of 16 leading music critics, editors and journalists from a number of European countries. Most award categories are for audio or video productions released during the preceding year.

Previous award ceremonies have been held in Tampere (Finland), Nantes (France), Milan (Italy) and Warsaw (Poland). The 2015 ICMA awards ceremony and gala concert is scheduled to take place at the Bilkent Concert Hall on Saturday, March 28. The concert will feature performances by the award winners, accompanied by the Bilkent Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Işın Metin.

Artists taking part in the concert will include:

Jodie Devos, soprano

Adam Fischer, conductor

Dimitrij Kitajenko, conductor

Evgeny Koroliov, piano

Alexander Liebreich, conductor

Yuri Revich, violin

Alexander Sitkovetzky, violin

Christian Tetzlaff, violin

Wu Wei, sheng

Zhu Xiao-Mei, piano

Ms. Devos and Mr. Revich are the winners of this year’s Young Artist Award in the vocal and instrumental categories, respectively. Mr. Kitajenko is the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Mr. Tetzlaff was chosen Artist of the Year.

The IMCA awards, first given in 2011, replaced the Cannes Classical Awards (later known as the MIDEM Classical Awards), which were given from 1994 to 2010.

More information about the 2015 IMCA awards, winners and jury members is available at