TÜBA-GEBİP Awards Go to Bilkent Faculty and Alumni

26 January 2021 Comments Off on TÜBA-GEBİP Awards Go to Bilkent Faculty and Alumni

A number of Bilkent faculty members and alumni are among the individuals to have recently received Outstanding Young Scientist Awards from the Turkish Academy of Sciences (TÜBA). The names of the awardees were announced in late December 2020.The Bilkent faculty awardees are: Asst. Prof. Eliza Gheorghe (Department of International Relations); Res. Asst. Prof. Hulusi Kafalıgönül (UMRAM and UNAM); Project Postdoc. Ghaith Makey (UNAM); Asst. Prof. Ahmet Şensoy (Department of Management); and Asst. Prof. Efe Tokdemir (Department of International Relations).

The following Bilkent alumni are also among the 2020 award recipients: Assoc. Prof. Yaşar Akdoğan (CHEM ’04, MSc ’06); Assoc. Prof. Kamil Boratay Alıcı (PHYS ’04, PhD ’10); Dr. Hasan Çolak (HIST MA ’08); and Assoc. Prof. Rıfat Onur Umucalılar (PHYS ’04, PhD ’10).

TÜBA introduced the Program to Award Young Scientists (GEBİP) in 2001 to recognize and support outstanding young researchers working in the natural and social sciences, engineering and medicine.