click, to go back to the contents of this issue
click, to go back to the contents of this issue

Volume 8, Number 17
5 March 2002

Click, to go back to the contents of this issue


We appreciate feedback from our readers
Browse through the collecton of older issues

Bilkent Symphony Orchestra Concert Notes for March 5

Program for Tuesday, March 5
Conductor: Emil Tabakov
Piano:Verda Erman
S. Rachmaninoff / “Caprice Bohemien”, Op.12
S. Rachmaninoff / “Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op.18”
N. Rimsky-Korsakov / “Sheherazade”
(Violin solo: Server Ganiyev)
Bilkent Concert Hall, 8 p.m. For more information and reservations, call 266-4382.

Sergei Vassilyevich Rachmaninoff (1873-1943) was an extraordinary talent at the piano. He is regarded as one of the greatest conductors and concert pianists of all time. In addition, he was a remarkable composer.
Rachmaninof's compositions appear typically romantic, with their sensitivity and gaudy melancholy. Although music went through Neo-Classical revolution during his life time, Rachmaninoff firmly resisted this, to keep his romantic style. Rachmaninoff died in 1943; but his secret dream of being remembered for his compositions did not come true until decades after his death. By then, his reputation had grown as an innovative composer. He was seen as a man ahead of his time, who communicated deep emotions beautifully and forcefully.
Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No.2 in C minor is one of the most popular of all times. The concerto consists of three parts. It opens with the piano alone; the “home key” of C minor establishes an air of tragedy. The second theme appears in a solo horn and is introverted. The final part is lively and dance-like and it dissipates the heaviness of the first movement.
Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908) began to go to operas and symphonic concerts during his childhood where he acquired a passion for music. He began to compose his first symphony when he was just 17. After a round-the-world trip, he was inspired by nature he saw along the way; the impressions of this journey are seen in his compositions. At the age of 27 until the end of his life, he was a professor at the St. Petersburg Conservatory. He joyfully conducted symphonic concerts for more than thirty years of his life.
Rimsky-Korsakov’s “Sheherazade” takes its name from the story of the beautiful Sheherazade who fascinates the Sultan. However, we cannot say that it is a symphony with a story. There are four movements in the symphony and Rimsky Korsakov himself only accepted the violin solo as representing the heroine. The violin solo is used at the start of the first, second and fourth movements. The symphony closes with a lively and energetic movement.

Reference notes from: “A Guide to Orchestral Music, Oxford University Press, New York”)
Click, to go back to the contents of this issue

Bilkent News Welcomes Feedback From Readers.
This newsletter will print letters received from readers.
Please submit your letters to
or to the Communications Unit, Engineering Building, room EG-23, ext. 1487.
The Editorial Board will review the letters and print according to available space.