Bilkent Faculty and Students Win Fulbright Scholar Awards

10 February 2014 Comments Off on Bilkent Faculty and Students Win Fulbright Scholar Awards

The Turkish Fulbright Commission, an organization sponsored jointly by the United States and Turkish governments, has been distributing its highly prestigious scholarships for the past 65 years. With an annual budget of more than $5 million, the Commission provides guidance to Turkish citizens interested in studying or doing research in the United States as well as funding for Turkish and American students, scholars, researchers and professionals through educational and cultural exchange programs.

Three Bilkent professors—Assoc. Prof. Hüseyin Boyacı (PSYC), Assoc. Prof. Özcan Öztürk (CS) and Asst. Prof. Zeki Sarıgil (POLS)—have been selected for Senior Fulbright Scholar awards to pursue research, teaching and training abroad during the 2014-15 academic year. Dr. Boyacı will be at the University of California, San Diego, Dr. Öztürk at Arizona State University and Dr. Sarıgil at Princeton University.

In addition, 10 Bilkent students and graduates have been selected for Fulbright Student fellowships this year: Erkan Akbulut (ARCH/’13), Zehra Betül Ayrancı (LAW/’11), Mine Seda Çukurova (MAN/’13), Nisan Görgülü (ECON/IV), Meltem Şahin (GRA/’12), Canbekir Bilir (MUS/PhD), Sercan Canbolat (IR/MA), Bilgesu Erdoğan (CS/ IV), Ömer Karaduman (ECON/ IV) and Gizem Tabak (EEE/ IV).

The Fulbright program allows students to pursue graduate studies across a variety of disciplines.  For more information on the various Fulbright scholarship programs as well as on application requirements and deadlines, visit the Fulbright Commission website at: