Changes in Academic Administration

17 September 2014 Comments Off on Changes in Academic Administration

Two Bilkent faculties have new appointments at the dean/associate dean levels. In the Faculty of Law, Professor Turgut Tan has been appointed dean, replacing Professor Osman Berat Gürzumar in the position.

In the Faculty of Business Administration, Associate Professor Aslıhan Altay Salih and Assistant Professor Örsan Örge have been appointed associate deans, replacing Associate Professors Süheyla Özyıldırım and Levent Akdeniz in the positions.

Two of the university’s academic departments have new chairs.

In the Department of Theater, Assistant Professor Jason Edward Hale has been appointed chair, replacing Associate Professor Kağan Korad.

Associate Professor Korad has been appointed chair of the Department of Music, taking over this position from Assistant Professor Işın Metin.

In other academic administrative positions, the new vice chair of the Department of Political Science and Public Administration is Assistant Professor İlker Aytürk, replacing Assistant Professor Saime Özçürümez Bölükbaşı; the new vice chair of the Department of International Relations is Assistant Professor Selver Buldanlıoğlu Şahin, replacing Assistant Professor Ali Bilgiç.

Professor Mehmet Bayındır, who was acting director of the Institute of Materials Science and Nanotechnology (UNAM), has been appointed the Institute’s director.